Pleasure or Pain?

Exercise can be such a pain, literally.   Sometimes I wonder why I do it.   Then after I do it, I remember why – it is a pleasure to feel the pain.   Not pain that really hurts, but the pain of your muscles as they grow.  The pain you feel when you stretch the day after a good workout and you feel your muscles ache.  The pain in your glutes when you walk up the stairs after a series of lunges or squats.   Those pains bring me pleasure, because I know that I am doing something good for myself.  pain

I have recently joined a new gym.  The median age of this gym population is probably 55.   There are many children, but there are many more seniors.   There are three pools, so it is popular with both age groups.  Not so popular is the actual gym.   They offer a variety of classes, but the instructors are all 30 something and super fit.  The workouts that they offer, whether in cycling or strength training, are very difficult.   They are especially difficult for the older generation.

But week after week we all show up and we struggle through the class.  Yesterday I did a strength training class that was more like Cross Fit.  I was so tired by the time I finished, and honestly was a little nauseous. spongebob strength But I smiled all the way home, with a true sense of pleasure at my accomplishment.  And today, I can feel every muscle in my body protesting as I move around.   But I am headed back to the gym for a nice long swim to stretch out my muscles.

 

There is sincere truth to the adage “No Pain, No Gain”.   I truly feel pleasure in the pain because I know that I am doing something for my health.  I am staying strong and fighting off diabetes, high cholesterol, high blood pressure, osteoporosis, and all the other joys that come with age.    I embrace the pain so that I can feel the pleasure.

Remember, it will hurt.   It will take time and dedication.  It will take time and sacrifice. But the end result is so worth it so don’t give up!good for you
Pleasure

Leave a Reply

