Be in Awe of Yourself

I have been a gym rat most of my adult life.  I started running track in high school and decided I liked the way exercise made me feel. I tried in many sports in college (tennis, karate,water skiing, etc) but none of them stuck.   I always went back to swimming and running.

When I graduated and got a real job, one of the things that kept me sane in the “adult” world was having my work out routine.  No matter how stressful my day was, I knew I could work out and all would be better. My social life was always with friends I met at the gym.  I even met my husband at the gym and he still goes every day (we will celebrate 23 years together soon!).

But throughout all of this, I never feel like a true athlete. I am always in awe of people who are stronger, faster, more defined than I am. I respect so much their dedication to get where they are.  I can make lots of excuses – I don’t have time, my kids need me at home, blah, blah, blah.  But the truth is, I want to be healthy but I don’t want to work that hard at it.motivation

It is truly awe-inspiring to watch someone that has a goal in mind.  I have a friend who is aspiring to join the NFL.  Watching him work towards his goal is amazing.  I have another friend who competes in 50 mile runs, and another who does the Ride Across America on a bicycle.   Another competes in body building competitions.  The list goes on.   And through it all, I sometimes wish I could be like them.  And I could be, if I wanted to put in the effort.

Then I have to remind myself that I also can be awe-inspiring too.  I have done sprint triathlons, I have ridden my bike hundreds of miles at a time, I have run half-marathons.  I need to remind myself to be in awe of myself because I am pretty good compared to a lot of people. Maybe I am an inspiration to others, who knows? Maybe people see me and think that I am such an athlete. We don’t all need to be super-athletes.  We can just do what we do and be proud of ourselves.  I am going to go to the gym today and wow myself, because I am awe-inspiring too!

good for you
Awe

6 thoughts on “Be in Awe of Yourself

  1. I feel exactly the same. It’s been quite long that I exercise and go to the gym. Last year in fact I was feeling such in a good shape that it amazed me. This year, however despite my good intentions I have not been that regular. I am trying hard though to get back in track.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Chapeau! I really enjoyed your post. I am an extremely lazy 40-something “girl” with a marathon runner husband. I think, after reading your article, I should at least start some working out 🙂
    All in all, thank you for your inspiring suggestion: We can just do what we do and be proud of ourselves.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

